Skip to content

Martin Luther King, Jr. Advancing Inclusion through Research Award

In an effort to build the body of work authored by students that supports the MSU and MLK, Jr. ideals of inclusive excellence, we encourage submissions of MSU student research papers and creative projects on topics on inclusion, diversity, marginalized populations, and human and civil rights.

MSU members of Honors College, James Madison College, Lyman Briggs College, or the Residential College in the Arts and Humanities during the Fall 2023 semester are eligible to apply.

The authors of the top three projects will win monetary prizes and will be recognized in college and university-level communications.

First Prize: $600
Second Prize: $500
Third Prize: $300

Submissions from work completed between January 2023-December 2023 are due by 11:59 p.m., January 17, to Dr. Brian Johnson at Please see below for application guidelines.

Please also consider presenting your work in person or online for additional prize consideration at the 2024 Diversity Research Showcase on Friday, January 19th 2024.

Sponsored by: Honors College, James Madison College, Lyman Briggs College, and the Residential College in Arts and Humanities

mlk flyer images

Application Guidelines

  • All submissions must include a clear and thoughtful explanation of how the research paper/creative project connects to and advances inclusivity, in the spirit of Martin Luther King, Jr. The length of this attachment should be no more than 2 pages.
  • Research papers and texts supporting creative projects must be no more than 20 double-spaced pages; the suggested length is 10-20 pages.
    • All sources and references should be appropriately cited.
    • Be sure to write clearly and proofread your final work.
  • All submitted work must have been completed in calendar year 2023. Submissions completed for a class or campus project are welcome.
  • Include your name and PID on a separate front page.

A committee comprised of faculty, staff, and students from the sponsoring Colleges will select the winners of the MLK, Jr. Advancing Inclusion through Research Award. Winners will be announced a week after MLK, Jr. Day 2024. Funds for winning entries will be placed into student accounts shortly thereafter, and are subject to MSU financial aid regulations. A reception will be held on Friday, February 9, 2024 in conjunction with the all-University Excellence in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Awards

Winners are strongly encouraged to submit their presentations for inclusion in the University Undergraduate Research and Arts Forum.

Permission Notice: All or parts of winning and non-winning projects may be published on the sponsoring Colleges’ websites. Sponsored by: Honors College, James Madison College, Lyman Briggs College, and the Residential College in Arts and Humanities

Previous Recipients Year of Award
Claire Glenn (1st Place) 2011
Courtney Hurtt (2nd Place) 2011
Elizabeth Dunham (3rd Place) 2011
Mitch Goldsmith (Honorable Mention) 2011
Annie Norris (1st Place) 2012
Chelsea Yondo (1st Place) 2012
Leah Steinhauser (2nd Place) 2012
Jermayne Hairston (3rd Place) 2012
Natalie Lyon (1st Place) 2013
Corey Brown (2nd Place) 2013
Rachna Pannu (2nd Place) 2013
Lauren Pavlik (2nd Place) 2013
John Cody Roedel (2nd Place) 2013
Christine Rygiel (2nd Place) 2013
Emily Nott (3rd Place) 2013
Haley Carr (3rd Place) 2013
Kristiane Schmidt (1st Place) 2014
Mary Connolly (1st Place) 2014
Christopher Horn (1st Place) 2014
Margeaux LaCavera (1st Place) 2014
Levi Storks (1st Place) 2014
Jenny Crakes (3rd Place) 2014
Cameron Allie (1st Place) 2015
Rachel Barton (1st Place) 2015
Erin Gumpper (1st Place) 2015
Ali Haque (1st Place) 2015
Savana Swanson (1st Place) 2015
Jolisa Brooks (2nd Place) 2015
Sona Movsisyan (3rd Place) 2015
Hannah Jenuwine (Honorable Mention) 2015
Leon Hister (Honorable Mention) 2015
Ryan Tarr (Honorable Mention) 2015
Kairston Nitsch (1st Place) 2016
Ewurama Dankah (2nd Place) 2016
Brittany Ladson (3rd Place) 2016
Sydnee Wargo (3rd Place) 2016
Tia Barbera (3rd Place) 2016
Erin Schaner (3rd Place) 2016
Lindsay Dean (3rd Place) 2016
Leon Hister (1st Place) 2017
Heidi Kurniawan (2nd Place) 2017
Erin Paskus (3rd Place) 2017
Brittany Wise (1st Place) 2018
Peyton Del Toro (2nd Place) 2018
Florence Rhodes (3rd Place) 2018
Katarina Huss (1st Place) 2019
Arzelia Williams (2nd Place) 2019
Jonathan Walkotten (3rd Place) 2019
Alex Barshaw (Honorable Mention) 2019
Taylor Toth (1st Place) 2024
Adrianna Roth (2nd Place) 2024
Stephanie Adams (3rd Place) 2024
Jordan Roebuck (Honorable Mention) 2024
Related Links:

Back To Top