A Message from the MSU Deans Council

September 13, 2022

Eustace-Cole Building

September 13, 2022

Dear Members of the MSU Faculty Senate and Steering Committee,

We write to reaffirm our shared commitment to the University’s values and to equitably applying and upholding the University’s policies and procedures. We amplify and support the calls for transparency and shared governance from leaders of the MSU Faculty Senate & Steering Committee, ASMSU, MSU COGS, MSU CoREM, and the Association of American Universities.

The recent actions by some members of the Board of Trustees are antithetical to the values that guide our work as academic leaders and the Board’s Code of Ethics (see https://trustees.msu.edu/about/code-of-ethics-and-conduct.html). These actions have destabilized and harmed our University. They have undermined the progress our community has made over the last several years to create a more equitable, more transparent, and more trusting community.

We will continue to work collaboratively with you to make MSU a beacon of inclusive excellence.  


Ann E. Austin, Interim Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for Faculty and Academic Staff Affairs

Kendra Spence Cheruvelil, Dean of Lyman Briggs College

Pero Dagbovie, Associate Provost for Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies and Dean of the Graduate School

Prabu David, Dean of the College of Communication Arts and Sciences

Phillip M. Duxbury, Dean of the College of Natural Science

Mary Finn, Dean of the College of Social Science

James Forger, Dean of the College of Music

Thomas Glasmacher, FRIB Laboratory Director

Steven Hanson, Associate Provost and Dean for International Studies and Programs Jerlando F L Jackson, Dean of the College of Education

Thomas Jeitschko, Senior Associate Provost

Mark Largent, Associate Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education

Christopher P. Long, Dean of the College of Arts & Letters and the MSU Honors College

Kelly F. Millenbah, Interim Dean of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources Terri Miller, Interim Dean of MSU Libraries

Dylan Miner, Dean of the Residential College in the Arts and Humanities

Birgit Puschner, Dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine

Leigh Small, Interim Dean of the College of Nursing

Aron Sousa, Dean of the College of Human Medicine

Judith Stoddart, Associate Provost for University Arts and Collections

Cameron G. Thies, Dean of James Madison College

Laurie Van Egeren, Interim Associate Provost for University Outreach and Engagement

Dave Weatherspoon, Associate Provost of Enrollment and Academic Strategic Planning