Honors College Award for Distinguished Contributions to Honors Students

Download the nomination form and e-mail it to hopkin65@msu.edu by March 1.

The Honors College Award for Distinguished Contributions to Honors Students recognizes outstanding contributions by MSU faculty and staff to Honors teaching and Honors students and serves to demonstrate a deep commitment to Honors' student education. 

This award is given annually to a faculty or staff member (including specialists and visiting faculty) who has made exceptional contributions to Honors College students through teaching, advising, or mentoring. Such contributions might include designing or teaching Honors classes or sections, offering Honors Options, providing Honors advising, mentoring of Professorial Assistants, or other exceptional efforts. 

Faculty and staff whose primary appointment is in the Honors College are not eligible for this award.

Recipient of the Sustained Commitment to Honors Students Award:

Constance Hunt and Cynthia Jackson-Elmoore 2016: Constance Hunt, Associate Professor, James Madison College

Past Recipients of the Honors College Award for Distinguished Contributions to Honors Students:

steve safferman 2019: Steve Safferman, Associate Professor, Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering
jenifer fenton 2018: Jenifer Fenton, Associate Professor, Food Science and Human Nutrition 
ryan black 2017: Ryan Black, Associate Professor, Political Science
john waller 2016: John Waller, Associate Professor, History
jeanne wald 2015: Jeanne Wald, Professor, Mathematics
natalie phillips 2014: Natalie Phillips, Assistant Professor, English
cristina schmitt 2013: Cristina Schmitt, Associate Professor, Linguistics
2012: Charlie Bokemeier, Professor, Accounting
2011: Tess Tavormina, Professor of English, Asst. Dean, Lyman Briggs College and Cornelius Barry, Assistant Professor, Horticulture
2010: Joey Houston, Professor, Physics and Astronomy
2009: Stephen Esquith, Dean, Residential College in the Arts and Humanities and Katherine O'Sullivan See, Professor, Social Relations
2008: David Bailey, Professor, History
2007: Charles Ostrom, Professor, Political Science and Harold Sollenberger, Professor Emeritus, Accounting and Information Systems
2006: Elizabeth Booth, Academic Specialist, Finance and Sandi Smith, Professor, Communication
2004: Byron Brown, Professor, Economics and Kelly Klump, Professor, Psychology
2005: Richard Zinman, Professor, James Madison College
2003: Paulette Stenzel, Professor, International Business Law
2002: Edward Ingraham, Director Emeritus, Lyman Briggs School
2001: Michael Schechter, Professor, James Madison College
2000: Robert Root-Bernstein, Professor, Physiology
1999: Herb Josephs, Professor Emeritus, Romance & Classical Languages and James Zacks, Professor, Psychology